#header-expand { background: #333333; }

Friday, August 2, 2013

Download - Ryan Adams & The Esquires - 12th and Porter, Nashville, TN - 6/10/00

1. Rosalie Come and Go #
2. What Sin Replaces Love *
3. Tell Me Why #
4. Shakedown on 9th Street #
5. Enemy Fire #
6. Brown Sugar (Jagger/Richards) #

# - probably the first time played live
* - first time played as a full band arrangement

AUD Recording (A -)

Notes - This show is already available on archive.org, but I just wanted to take a few minutes to highlight what is arguably one of the best Ryan Adams live recordings from 1999-2000. This show was part of Kimfest, a 4 night series of concerts to help raise money for Kim Webber; a local DJ who was undergoing treatment for multiple sclerosis. On the final night, Ryan was listed on the bill as a solo act, but surprised many people in the crowd when he walked onstage with Nashville's best kept secret - The Esquires. Backed by Gillian Welch on bass, David Rawlings on guitar, and David Steele on drums; Ryan plays a bunch of new songs that he had written with the band a week before the show. Unfortunately, most of these songs would rarely be played live again (but some did surface on later albums).

The performance from Ryan and the Esquires can be summed up in one word - NASTY! The overall sound of the band brings to mind the loud garage rock of The White Stripes and the tense primal feel of early PJ Harvey albums. Also, Ryan sings through a bullet microphone, which gives his vocal an extra smokey, and raspy texture. Sadly there are only 2 live recordings (that I know of) featuring Ryan Adams and The Esquires. (The other being from the infamous Nashville show on 10/14/02). But who knows, maybe someday we'll see more. For now though, I hope you'll give this a listen.

Download or Stream HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment