#header-expand { background: #333333; }

Friday, January 3, 2014

Just in Case You Missed Anything Vol. 11

- Recently, LA session drummer/maestro - Marshall Vore posted some exciting news on his tumblr page. At the end of December, the sessions for the new Ryan Adams album were wrapped up (as far as he could tell)! Vore played percussion on somewhere between 20-30 new songs, spread out over 3 months and several different sessions. He also said when the record does come out, you may only hear him on a couple of tracks, since Ryan's primary band on the album is Benmont Tench (keyboards), Tal Wilkenfeld (bass), and Jeremy Stacey (drums). (Read the post HERE)

- Singer Songwriter - Jose Gonzalez (better known for his group - Junip) recorded a brand new Ryan Adams tune recently called "Stay Alive", for The Secret Life of Walter Mitty soundtrack. The film was directed by Ben Stiller who also had a part in choosing the songs for the film. Anyway, the track is outstanding and one of the better Ryan Adams songs I've heard in quite a while! Jose does a heck of a job on it, as well as the 5 other tunes he's featured on for the soundtrack. See the video below.

- About a year ago, Mandy Moore and Benmont Tench posted a picture on twitter showing Don Was, Gillian Welch, Dave Rawlings, Ethan Johns, and Benmont Tench working in the studio together (see post HERE)! Anyway, I was pretty excited about this, and assumed it was for the next Ryan Adams album. But it turns out Benmont Tench was recording his long overdue solo debut. If you've never heard of him, he's a legendary keyboardist who's played with just about everybody, and also happens to be a member of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. You Should Be Lucky comes out on Blue Note Records on February 18th, and features guest appearances from the musicians listed above, as well as Ryan Adams, Ringo Starr, Tom Petty, and production from Glyn Johns!

- And lastly, an animated video for the Sandra Boynton/Mike Ford children's song - "When Pigs Fly" was posted recently. The song features Ryan Adams on vocals, and is drawn from Sandra's new children's book/album - Frog Trouble.